GOVERNMENT ORGANIZATIONS

Merchant Seamen Compensation Board. The Board is established by authority of the Merchant Seamen Compensation Act (RSC 1970, c.M-11) and reports to the Minister of Labour. The three members are appointed by the Governor in Council. The Board meets, as required, to adjudicate claims for compensation made by injured seamen employed on ships registered in Canada when they are not entitled to workmen's compensation under any provincial Workmen's Compensation Act or the Government Employees Compensation Act.

Metric Commission. The Commission was established by Order in Council PC 1971-1146, June 1971. It consists of a full-time chairman and up to 20 part-time commissioners, all of whom are appointed by the Governor in Council for a term of three years. An executive director acts for the Commission in directing the full-time staff.

The Commission advises the Minister of Industry, Trade and Commerce on plans for conversion to the metric system and the need for legislation. It includes 60 sector committees covering all areas of the Canadian economy. The staff plays a co-ordinating role for these sector committees, with the major impetus for conversion coming from the members who represent industry and commerce, associations, provincial governments and other concerned bodies. Each sector committee develops a conversion plan for the industries involved; the sector plan is then approved by a steering committee. Both individual sector plans and over-all national guidelines now follow closely a four-phase framework — investigation, planning, scheduling and implementation — to ensure, as far as possible, that programs are phased and co-ordinated to maximize the benefits of conversion while minimizing the costs.

In the field of public education, activities include the distribution of pamphlets and brochures, the development of an extensive colour transparency library, the establishment of a Speaker's Bureau to provide speech material to interested organizations and the production and distribution of a 30-minute documentary film *The decision*. A mailing address for the general public (Box 4000, Ottawa, Ontario) has been established to handle an increasing number of requests for information on metric conversion in Canada.

Ministry of State for Science and Technology. This Ministry was established by Order in Council PC 1971-1695 on August 11, 1971, with the primary purpose of formulating and developing policies in relation to the activities of the Government of Canada that affect the development and application of science and technology. It is organized into three operational branches: Program Review and Assessment, Policy, and Co-operation. The Minister of State for Science and Technology is also designated as the Minister for the Science Council Act, the Cabinet member to whom the Science Council of Canada reports.

Ministry of State for Urban Affairs. The Ministry was created June 30, 1971 in accordance with the Government Organization Act 1970 (SC 1971, c.42). Its mandate is to develop, research, foster and co-ordinate urban policies and programs. The Ministry's task is to develop the most appropriate means by which the federal government may influence the evolution of the urbanization process in Canada, to integrate urban policy with other policies and programs of the federal government, to foster co-operative relationships in the area of urban affairs with the provinces and, through them, with their municipalities and with public and private organizations. Under the direction of the Secretary and two Assistant Secretaries, the Ministry is divided into two operating wings: Policy and Research and Co-ordination. There are also two service branches: Communications and Administration.

Ministry of Transport. The role and structure of the former Department of Transport were changed and a Ministry was created February 17, 1970. The new Ministry is a corporate structure of Crown corporations and operating administrations with varying degrees of autonomy, together with separate agencies for development and economic regulation. A Ministry headquarters staff supports the Minister and Deputy Minister in the functions of planning, policy formulation and assessment of program achievements in terms of the objectives of the Ministry.

The Canadian Marine Transportation Administration co-ordinates the functions of the St. Lawrence Seaway Authority, the National Harbours Board and the Marine Services components of the former Department of Transport. Its operations include management of the St. Lawrence Seaway through the St. Lawrence Seaway Authority and direct supervision of 13 harbours and other facilities through the National Harbours Board; 300 public harbours and 11 others are administered by commissions under the supervision of the Ministry. It is also responsible for aids to navigation, search and rescue, nautical and pilotage services, marine agencies, steamship inspection and the Canadian Coast Guard.

The Canadian Air Transportation Administration controls and operates Canada's airways and federal airports and provides technical safety supervision of all aeronautical activities in Canadian airspace. These activities are conducted through the branches of Civil Aeronautics, Telecommunications and Electronics, Airports and Field Operations, Air Traffic Control, and Construction Engineering and Architectural, and the support branches of Corporate Planning, Finance and Personnel. The Canadian Air Transportation Administration also provides telecommunications and flight services to other components of the Ministry.

The Canadian Surface Transportation Administration has planning, programming and co-ordinating responsibilities relating to federal participation in the development and, where appropriate, operation of railway and highway systems, ferry services and bridges. The Administration has an interest in the emerging technology of surface transportation and its potential applications in new operating systems.